Monday, September 5, 2011

Penpal of the Week #40

 

I know that quite a few people would love to have a male penpal, but they aren’t that easy to come by… Especially ones who are only looking for friendship and who are serious about penpalling and don’t see this as a temporary hobby! Well, good news everyone, I’ve found a wonderful man in Brazil who’s looking for new pals! Read on…

 

Please tell us about you!

First of all, I would like to thank you Julie and I hope to find some very friendly snail-penpals here.

 

Well, my name is Hamilton, but almost all of my friends call me by BETO, that means Bobby in portuguese. I’m 42 years old and I live in Campinas, a medium town with approximately 1 million inhabitants in the southeast of Brazil, 96 kilometres from our largest city, São Paulo.

 

Beto 1

Me and Bart a few days after adopting it.

 

I have been working as an universitary teacher since 2001 and my background is Pharmacy, graduation course that I finished in 1992. In 2009 I decided to upgrade my skills so I did a 2 year Gastronomy Course and now I’m working preparing small buffets and parties as well.

 

Beto 2

As a Personal Chef.

 

I’m the second of 3 sons. My family is apart, my father lives in Lowell, a city near Boston, in the USA. My newest brother lives in London with his wife, my oldest brother lives with his wife and daughter in Araucária, a small city in Brazil, and my mom lives in Londrina, another medium city in the south of Brazil, where I was born. I have a dog called Bart that means everything to me. I like very much go walking with it in the parks here.

 

My interests are: collecting postcards from all over the world, travelling, photographies, knowing about different cultures, different people, gastronomy, making party cakes and desserts, etc.

 

Beto 10

One of my cakes, The Powerful Girls.

 

I have a blog where I teach how to cook, in many steps, all of them photographed to easy the learning.

 

Describe your personality in 10 words!

Curious, passionate, friendly, funny, easygoing, smart, concentrated, helpful, meticulous and sometimes edgy.

 

Beto 8

Me, Valquíria and Luis (Two of my friends) in a typical party in Brazil called Junine Feast.

 

How long have you been penpalling? How did you first start? Tell us about your first penpal!

I started penpalling when I was much younger, maybe when I was 15 or 16 y.o. As far as I remember, I registered in one PenPal Club and received some adresses, picked some and started to write a few letters. Maybe I had had 8 or 9 penpal friends from France, Belgium, Costa Rica, Australia, Greece, USA, Poland, England, Germany and Cuba.

 

Beto 5

One meal prepared by me.

 

How many penpals do you have now and where are they from?

Today only 2 (Nanne and Esteban) stay in touch. Esteban lives in Costa Rica and I intend to visit him one day, maybe next year. Nanne lives in Belgium, another country that I haven’t been yet.

 

Beto 3

The view from my room window in a very cloudy and scary day.

 

What are your favorite topics to discuss in letters?

I like to talk about several things, amenities and curiosities of the country where the person lives, cultural aspects of their country, food, particularities of my life and of my penpal, or even talk about things completely banal, without much depth.

 

Beto 15

Here I am, when I was a little child.

 

What are you looking for in a penpal?

Looking for a person who, when we begin to exchange letters to each other, do not give up halfway and do not take months to respond, be open to the chance to know me alive and may visit me at my house one day and be part of my real friends. The contrary is also expected. When there is a possibility of visiting other countries, I would meet them in person. I want friendly people, sincere, thoughtful, happy, funny or serious, but people that may accumulate experience in my life.

 

Beto 11

My first international trip in 2006 to New York, USA.

 

What do you like the most about penpalling?

From the experiences I’ve ever lived with penpals I’ve learned to know more about the human being and to expect the people what they may actually offer me, without false illusions.

 

Beto 13

Me and some of my students.

 

In what language(s) do you correspond?

My native language is Portuguese, but I can write in English too.

 

What are some of your habits in regards to letter writing?

I like writing letters on my kitchen table or on my desk, generally with TV on, my dog Bart lying besides me and eating some snacks and candies.

 

Beto 7

 My aunt Solange, Me, My mom and my friend Renata, July 2010.

 

Has anything strange/funny ever happened to you since you’ve been penpalling?

Once I made a phone-call to my penpal from Greece, Merita, but I totally forgot the time zone. When I realized, I had awakened her at 4 a.m. in the morning. My English that time was worse than today and we cannot have a minimum conversation. It was embarassing and funny at the same time.

 

Have you met any of your penpals?

No, I haven’t met them.

 

Beto 9

Rooting for Brazil in the last Soccer World Cup.

 

Are you currently looking for more penpals?

Yes, I think it would be very cool. I will respond every letter that arrive into my hands.

 

If there is any person interested in writing me a letter, please ask for my address in my e-mail: hbavutti@yahoo.com.br

 

Thank you Hamilton! (Or am I allowed to call you Beto?)

 

Any takers? ;)

Posted under Penpal Interviews

5 Responses to “Penpal of the Week #40”

  1. Thank you Julie, I´m very excited to know new penpals. Hugs.

  2. Another great interview :) It’s good to see that some guys still loves penpaling. It was nice to read your interview Beto!

  3. Ótima entrevista, Beto. Espero que consiga muitos novos amigos. :)

    Great interview, Beto. I hope you’ll get many new friends. :)

  4. Hi my name is Vernon. I live in the USA in Fresno, California. I have been looking on websites to find a pen pal. I use to write ( a lost art these days) to several penpals in the United States when I was younger in my 20’s. So if you would like to write, I would be willing to write back. Thank you

Hello!

My name is Julie and I'm 37.
I'm French Canadian and fell
in love with an American,
so I'm now living in Vermont
with my wife.

I write letters, I love stationery and I have a handwriting fetish. I often eat sushi, still feel like I'm 16 and only wear skirts & dresses (with colorful tights when it's cold).

I'm happier with a mind full of ideas, a mailbox full of letters from my penpals, a shop full of stationery, a house full of pens and a day full of hugs.

Read my Top 10 Quirks here.


This is me with my wife,
Denise. We met through the
League of Extraordinary
Penpals and are living
happily ever after in the
Stationery Kingdom.

Denise blogs here too and is
the one in charge of the
social media: Facebook,
Twitter and Pinterest.

She's 40 years old,
from South Dakota,
and in love with me, washi
tape & imperial rolls.

Send your penpal ad & top 10 quirks to:

Grab a Button

penpal of the week