Thursday, June 9, 2016

Penpal of the Week #184


I cooked a yummy shrimp stir-fry dinner tonight… and then I cleaned the kitchen. After that I started a load of laundry and played with a new (to us) vacuum cleaner that a friend gave to us. I guess you could say that I’m feeling pretty domestic this evening. My dream job would involve being a full-time housewife. I’m one of those odd people who enjoys cleaning, errands, etc.


I also enjoy sharing Penpal of the Week interviews with you! And so before I go back to vacuuming, I want to introduce you to Angela.


Please tell us about you!

Hello, my name is Angela, I am 43 years old. I am originally from Nebraska but now live in Florida. My family consists of my husband Scott (we will be married 27 years come December and both of our birthdays are in June), our son Matthew who is 24 and our daughter Rachel who will be 21 in August. We also have quite the animal family, two dogs (Sissy and Peepers), three inside cats (Tiny, Socks and Shadow), four outside cats (Reese, Skip, Tiger and Blue) and a one legged finch named Bella. All of our animals are rescue animals.


I am an avid reader and have been since I was a child. I have a book blog where I do reviews – A Holland Reads (Blog & Facebook) I do also have a personal blog for journaling but need to work on my self discipline in writing on it more often.  A dream of mine is to write a book one day.


I enjoy collecting bookmarks and postcards although if you ask my family I also collect journals, pens and stationary. My hobbies are scrapbooking, card-making (although it has been awhile since I have done this), coloring in the new adult coloring books and pen pal writing. I am a Real Housewives junkie and enjoy watching historical themed tv series. I am a huge Green Bay Packers fan and enjoy listening to podcasts while driving or writing.


I was a paralegal for 23 years and just recently decided to switch careers and am now a bank teller.


My email is – I also can be found at my blogs listed above as well as my personal Facebook which is Angela-Scott Holland.




This is my family taken a couple of years ago – Rachel, Matthew, Me and Scott.


Describe your personality in 10 words!

Friendly, shy, organized, shy, emotional, neat freak, OCD, honest, nerdy and introvert.




My whole family two years ago in Nebraska.


How long have you been penpalling? How did you first start? Tell us about your first penpal!

I had my first penpal when I was about ten years old. She was a girl that I met when I was spending the summer with my grandpa on Lake Shetec in Michigan. We hit it off and decided to exchange addresses and write after the summer. We kept in touch until we were teens then lost touch.




Wall of books (notice all the pet treats on the top of the shelf on the right, LOL).


How many penpals do you have now and where are they from?

I have about 10-12 pen pals right now with probably eight of them being very active. My penpals are from all over the US, England, Australia, Belgium, Germany, The Netherlands and Norway. I enjoy hearing from each of my penpals as it is not only nice to receive fun mail but also to learn about others.


What are your favorite topics to discuss in letters?

I love to discuss books, tv shows, life in general, customs and cultures or whatever topic we are in the mood to discuss.




This is Socks, Tiny and Shadow with Rachel in the background.


What are you looking for in a penpal?

In a penpal I like to see someone who is good about writing back in a reasonable amount of time. Someone that is friendly and enjoys visiting. I am not set on a certain age group as I am pretty open. I just recently started writing to my first male penpal.




Sissy and Peepers.


What do you like the most about penpalling?

What do I like most about penpalling – writing and receiving letters would be right up there at the top of the list. I also like the close friendship that is created by writing to others. It is nice that you can be honest and talk about anything with your penpals and they seem to understand. I also love learning about the different countries and cultures.




A bit of my paper collection.


In what language(s) do you correspond?

At this time I only correspond in English – maybe one day that will change.


What are some of your habits in regards to letter writing?

Usually when I get a letter I try to respond in two to three days but occasionally life does get in the way and it may be a week. If the weather is nice it is always nice to sit in the peaceful outdoors and write. But more often than not I write in my living room listening to a podcast. One day I hope to have a designated writing area. My letters tend to be medium in length. Somedays I have more to write and somedays less but the majority are medium length.




A sampling of my pen collection I use in writing letters.


Has anything strange/funny ever happened to you since you’ve been penpalling?

I can not think of anything really strange that has happened with my penpals other than one person who wrote to me was asking some very strange questions and then only wrote about the weather in her letter.


Have you met any of your penpals?

No I have not had the pleasure to meet any of my penpals yet but maybe one day.




My handwriting.


Are you currently looking for more penpals?

I am always looking for new penpals. The more the merrier.


Thanks Angela!


If you’re interested in being featured here on the blog, you can check out our Participate page for more information. This is a great opportunity for you to share about your own penpal hobby.


I’m off to move the clothes from the washer to the dryer!

Posted under Penpal Interviews


My name is Julie and I'm 37.
I'm French Canadian and fell
in love with an American,
so I'm now living in Vermont
with my wife.

I write letters, I love stationery and I have a handwriting fetish. I often eat sushi, still feel like I'm 16 and only wear skirts & dresses (with colorful tights when it's cold).

I'm happier with a mind full of ideas, a mailbox full of letters from my penpals, a shop full of stationery, a house full of pens and a day full of hugs.

Read my Top 10 Quirks here.

This is me with my wife,
Denise. We met through the
League of Extraordinary
Penpals and are living
happily ever after in the
Stationery Kingdom.

Denise blogs here too and is
the one in charge of the
social media: Facebook,
Twitter and Pinterest.

She's 40 years old,
from South Dakota,
and in love with me, washi
tape & imperial rolls.

Send your penpal ad & top 10 quirks to:

Grab a Button

penpal of the week